DFE Character Awards…….

I have spent hours putting together an application for the Character Awards from the DFE.  Character development is what we do best!  It is the ‘thing’ that I know our school excels at. We literally buzz with it…..

But, like all applications, space is limited and you only have a certain amount of words (characters, I found out!), that you can use.  I had written a great piece for my first answer, thinking that the limit was 1500 words, but realised too late it was only 1500 characters! My biggest challenge is fitting everything in that I want to say.

If you don’t try, you aren’t in for a chance of being recognised.  Our school, like most others, could put such a prize to amazing use!  It is rare to have such a lump sum of money to spend…..We really could do so much with it.

The thing is, I’m sure there will be hundreds and hundreds of applications……many the same, trying to shout about how ‘character development’ is a part of the culture.  How do you stand out?  How do you ensure that your application catches their eye?  How do you put the ‘buzz’ into words?  It is something you have to feel and experience for yourself.

To everyone who applied, I wish you the best.  I’m not holding my breath, but the spark of anticipation lingers……..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

