Parting ways…onto new adventures.

The year six had their final end of year production tonight . You know the one…..it recaps over key events through the year and ends with the song that makes your eyes well over.

It is always a bittersweet week, excitement for the summer holidays but sadness at having to part ways.

It has been a new experience being a headteacher. I feel a different sense of pride for the year six children. Of course, it is different than actually being their classroom teacher…..but this year six class I will always remember as the first class of year six that I had as the head.

They are all ready to move on and make the transition to year seven. It is the term where you suddenly see them grow too big for the school, where they become so much taller and older.

I am so looking forward to watching the children currently in reception move through year six. I don’t want to rush it, but I know that when I see all those children grow up and move on, the impact of their primary school education will be evident.

This is why we MUST get it right….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parting ways…onto new adventures.

  1. Miss L says:

    I know what you mean, I’m starting as an nqt in reception this September and can’t believe that in seven years my little class will be getting ready to leave the school!

Leave a Reply

