A Woman We Will All Remember…….

I finally introduced the children to Dr. Maya Angelou in assembly.  I’m surprised I hadn’t yet and am disappointed that it took her death for me to bring her stories and voice alive to the children I am with now.  I have always spoken about her in my previous schools, so I’m not sure why it had taken me so long to bring her up this year.

I don’t know if you are familiar with Maya Angelou, but she is inspirational.  Her poetry and writing is truly ‘phenomenal,’ but to hear her speak and to hear her message will motivate you to change your ways and to begin really thinking about what ‘life’ is about.

I had the privilege of hearing her speak in person, in a small playhouse in Santa Barbara.  I was only eighteen at the time, but I will never forget her words, her presence and the way she could mesmerise a crowd.  I can still hear her voice, the purposeful pauses, her intonation and that voice that makes a room silent.

Her voice is heard…….and listened to.

Her message has always been clear and her determined and positive outlook on life is contagious.

If you haven’t read her work or even better yet, watched her speak…..do yourself a favour and see what she had to say….

 

“Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I’ll rise……

Does my haughtiness offend you?
Don’t you take it awful hard
‘Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines
Diggin’ in my own back yard……

I rise
I rise
I rise…….”

(Only Extracts From Her Poem – Still I Rise)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

