Cheering them on…..

I helped Marshall in a 10k today.

It was beautiful weather for it.

When I was running in the London Marathon, it was the crowd that kept me going.

I remember specifically when I was at about 16 or so miles, I didn’t think I could keep going. I had slowed down to a walk, limp, slow gallop- whatever you want to call it. I just remember my legs burning and feeling as though if I stopped, there would be no way I could keep going…

But then, a man from the crowd stepped into my path. He didn’t know me, he had never seen me….but he could tell I was hurting, it was as if he could read the thoughts going on in my mind. He grabbed my hand and looked into my eyes and told me how much he believed in me, he told me I could do it, he said that if anyone could get to the finish line, that I could.

I could not tell you what this man looked like, I don’t know his name…..all I know is that he helped me to the finish line. It is because of those people, the ones who came and watched the runners passing by their houses or their local pubs, the ones who brought bags of sweets and cut up oranges to share with the runners – it is because of them that some of us were able to make it to the finish line.

Sometimes all we need is an encouraging word, a pat on the back. Having someone cheering us on from the sidelines can give us the strength we didn’t even know we had to push us just that bit further, to get us to go just a bit faster, or to just will our legs to keep going on. One person on our side can make all the difference.

The heat took its toll on the runners today. As they came to the last stretch, I hope I was that person for some of them. I applauded them on, told them how great they were doing, told them that they were almost there.

It can make all the difference.

Be that person on the sidelines.

There is someone who needs your motivation to get them to the finish line…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

