It’s over and I received a medal!!

The marathon is over. I don’t want to walk another step. My legs are burning like something I have never known.

Running for 26.2 miles has the highest highs and the lowest lows. At certain points you say to yourself, “yes, I can do this, not a problem.” And then there are those points where you really think you can’t take another step. Ups and downs like crazy. You have to keep mentally tricking yourself. I couldn’t even count the amount of times I kept telling myself…”only one more mile until….”

But, at the moment all I want to do is lay in the bed and go to sleep. I have now hit the ‘incredibly exhausted’ category….so this will be short and sweet tonight.

One thing no one mentioned about doing the London Marathon was how much you had to walk at the start to get there and how far you had to walk after you had crossed the finish line to meet up with the family. So all in all the 26.2 mile marathon ended up being actually over thirty by the end of the day! And….walking after passing the finish line was excruciating.

I understand the true meaning of, ‘just put one foot in front of the other.’ It was just as much a mental test as it was a physical test.

Though, I’m still going to sign up for next year’s marathon! It hasn’t put me off!

I’m just happy that I finished within the seven hours and was able to walk away with a medal (well limp away at least!)

Thank you to everyone who sent messages of support. They helped get me through!

So, for now, to all a good night….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s over and I received a medal!!

  1. Congratulations! A great achievement.

  2. pscapp says:

    I once heard a quote that went like this…” If you have any questions about yourself that you want answered – run a marathon.” Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

