Are you ready to take on the challenge?

All truly great thoughts are conceived while walking.
~Friedrich Nietzsche~

I just came back from an exhilarating run and bike ride. I should have done the ride first as the wind whizzing past me, when I was already sweating, was icy to say the least! I was freezing when I came back….I really could not feel my fingers.

But, I feel refreshed and ready to tackle the week ahead of me. Exercising is one of those things, when you are feeling exhausted after a long day, that is very easy to put off for another day. We have all had the conversation with ourselves. ” I really should go out for a run, but I have had a really tough day and should just savour the chance to relax. I can run tomorrow.” Then tomorrow comes and more excuses come tumbling out…and on it goes!

Yes, every day is either going to be a long day, a challenging day, or a ‘wish-I-could-start-this-day-all-over-again sort of day.’ This just comes with the territory, no one said teaching or working in a school was going to be easy! No matter how much you love your job, you will always be exhausted. In fact, the more you love your job, the more effort you actually put into your job each and every day, making you even more tired.

But…..this is exactly the reason why you should go out and take that run or that bike ride or whatever it is that gets you moving! It is one of the best ways to de-stress and give you that ‘quiet’ time you so often desperately need. It is a chance to fill your lungs with oxygen and refresh your mind, body and spirit…..literally. It gives you a chance to re-focus and reflect on your day. There aren’t many moments in the day to be alone with your thoughts!

When you are finished, you feel terrific, awake, re-energised, and depending on how hard you pushed yourself like you are an ‘iron woman (or man)’ with real grit, it gives you a kind of ‘I dare you to mess with me attitude.’ We all need this kind of confidence once in a while…..all in moderation though!

So, instead of reclining on the couch, grab those trainers that you have buried in the closet and get outside. Even if you just walk to the end of your road, it is a start. You just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other and commit that you are going to do it. I promise that you will feel better for it.

So, join me…….let’s quit using how busy we are as an excuse to let our health and well-being be put on the back burner. In school we educate the children on the importance of physical activity, so let’s model it ourselves. We will feel better and look better – how can we not do this?

Are you ready to take on this challenge with me? Remember, all we have to do is put one foot in front of the other….we’ll be amazed at how far we can actually go.

Let’s do this!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you ready to take on the challenge?

Leave a Reply

