Parent’s Evening……

Happiness is not so much in having as sharing.  We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give
~Norman MacEwan~

Tonight is another parent’s evening.  We had our first one on Monday.  

Parent evenings are something that I enjoy as they are a terrific chance to say hello and to really meet all of the parents, often the ones who you don’t get to see in the morning drop-offs and evening pick-ups.

I usually am waiting for the parents who want to come in and complain about some aspect of their child’s experience in school.  But so far, no one has come to see me.  I don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.  I have been trying to greet as many parents as I can, but there is only so much standing around one can do!  So, I’m sitting in my office, with my door wide open hoping that if parents would like to see me, they feel as though they can come right in!

I meant to get some food for the staff room, for everyone to nibble on during their late night tonight.  But, with so much going on, I just did not get a moment to organise it. 

Tomorrow, I am off to another new head teacher’s conference.  I’m looking forward to it and to seeing what we are going to do.  It is on mapping the new curriculum as well as a host of other interesting things.  I’m sure I will have lots to discuss tomorrow!

One of my teachers came back from visiting another school today – an outstanding school that is also working with Di Pardoe.  She has come back enthusiastic and inspired by seeing another setting working towards the same outcomes we are.  As I mentioned yesterday about feeling positive that we are on the right track, she too had the same mentality when she came back to school today.  It is essential for teachers to be able to go out and visit other settings.  Too often we can become isolated within our own bubble and forget what else is out there.  So, having a chance to see others in practice and to see how schools are moving forwards with the same concepts we are working on, gives great insight into what is possible or new unique ways of going about things.

If you are truly working towards outstanding, surely this is a part of teacher’s professional development.  I know many heads who are reluctant to send their teachers to other schools, but sharing ideas is all about how to improve schools and all that we do.

  If we have something that works in our school, then we need to share it and shout about it, not hide it and keep it to ourselves.  I know competition exists, but between schools it shouldn’t. It is about improving outcomes not just for our own children, but for children everywhere…..

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parent’s Evening……

Leave a Reply

