Love our Saturdays!

Your hair may be brushed, but your mind’s untidy.
You’ve had about seven hours of sleep since Friday.
No wonder you feel that lost sensation.
You’re sunk from a riot of relaxation.
~Ogden Nash, about weekends~

I love my Saturdays. We all slept in….my daughter didn’t wake unto after ten. My husband joked that she would be six inches taller when she finally woke up.

My son built his Lego police house all morning and my daughter and him have been playing with it almost all afternoon. She is very patient with him and plays so well with him considering their age difference. I hope it is always like that, rather than her wanting to go and close her bedroom door to put on make-up or to talk with her friends. But, I think she will always have time for her brother and put him first. We are blessed to have two terrific children.

Saturdays have quickly become our rest days. After our hectic week we all just want to relax and remain in our pyjamas which suits us all fine! The only thing we always do on a Saturday is go up to our village farm shop and our butcher. I have fresh bread that gets delivered to the butcher now on a Saturday. I always have two loaves of it, brown granary full of seeds. We eat it all week but two loaves are starting not to last! The kids both usually have two slices for toast in the mornings with their cereal as well as two slices to use for their packed lunches!

My other Saturday routine is to buy fresh flowers, also from the farm shop, the house seems much brighter when there are bright blooms around. Today I bought Tulips, Daffodils and two pots of Tete-a-Tete for the kitchen windowsill. It all seemed too Spring-like, but the final break in the rain put me in the mood!

So, now we are relaxing some more….waiting to see what the night will bring!

Enjoy your Saturday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

