Are you a ‘glass half full’ or a ‘glass half empty’ kind of person?

“A pessimist is one who makes difficulties of his opportunities and an optimist is one who makes opportunities of his difficulties”
~Harry Truman~

I read some of my blog posts to my mum last night while I was at her house and she said I was too ‘goody goody’ all the time. Goody goody?
She was inferring that I was too ‘nice’ about things and too positive about everything. My response? How can that be a bad thing?

Nothing of what I have written is false or made up and the emotion, feelings and resonance are all completely honest. Perhaps this is the thing that specifically separates my mum and I, our attitudes and opinions towards particular issues. I believe it is specifically my attitude that has got me to where I am and into a leadership role.

No, headship has not been a perfect experience from day one. It has its ups and downs just like anything in life. I have often sat in my office thinking what on earth I am to do about certain situations that arise….but it hasn’t ever made me feel defeated or unmotivated. When things go wrong (which can happen very often in just one school day!), it actually makes me want to work that much harder to rectify the situation and to improve……I am constantly thinking about how things can be improved.

I can’t change who I am….further, I won’t change who I am. An attitude of thankfulness and being able to look at life with a ‘glass half full’ attitude rather than a ‘glass half empty’ attitude always yields better outcomes. In fact, it always makes for a better day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you a ‘glass half full’ or a ‘glass half empty’ kind of person?

Leave a Reply

