Taking a break from procrastination……..

“My advice is to never do tomorrow what you can do today. Procrastination is the thief of time.” 
~Charles Dickens~

I’m trying to take a break this half term.  I have to say it has been hard!  

My son’s school doesn’t have their half term until next week, which has completely messed up my plan of sleeping in every morning!  So 7:00 is my new ‘sleep in’ for the week….

My mind seems to be a complete whirr of ideas at the moment and it doesn’t want to stop.  I just think there are so many things that I need to do, that until they are done, I just won’t be able to rest.

I am a procrastinator.  There I have said it.  That is why I have to have set deadlines so that things get done quickly and efficiently.  I have learnt how to work with it…..but if it was left up to my own devices, things would wait until the very last minute.  I am one of these people who works well under pressure, but over the years I have wondered how much better the outcome would have been if I hadn’t left it until the last minute!  Sometimes, procrastination has led me to trouble….when printers don’t work, technology goes down, etc, etc….when the deadline is just hours away it seems everything goes against you!

Another one of my traits is that if I tell people I will have something done by a particular day and time, I will deliver….usually above and beyond what they have expected. Therefore, if I set a deadline for myself by telling someone a day they will be given something, I will get it done.  This is the way I keep procrastination at bay and keep track of the things that I need to do and get done.

I have learnt how to deal with this aspect of my personality to ensure that it doesn’t affect my work performance or ‘outcomes’ of specific tasks.

But why is it still so appealing to procrastinate?  Why do we want to put off everything until tomorrow, when today you won’t fully relax thinking only about what you have to do tomorrow? But, if things get done straight away, you can then relax knowing it is done.

This is a hard lesson to learn…….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

