The Morning Rush……

Every morning, when we wake up, we have twenty-four brand-new hours to live. What a precious gift! We have the capacity to live in a way that these twenty-four hours will bring peace, joy, and happiness to ourselves and others.
~Thich Nhat Hanh~
 
A majority of my posts have been about work and only a few about family.  This blog is intended to capture my ‘First Year of Headship,’ but balancing things at home has much to do with this.  Family is the priority and ensuring that they come first is vital. 
 
I have been thinking today about the ‘time’ I spend with my family.  I have talked a lot about leaving work early, keeping work at work and home at home.  But, I have been thinking more about the ‘time’ I spend at home and how I use it. 
 
Having more than one child, finding quality time for both of them can sometimes be difficult.  If I asked them what they would like to do more of with me, what would they say?  If I asked them about the time I now spent with them, what would they say?  I’m going to ask them these questions tonight……
 
Thinking about priorities, I have questioned what I can do to be a better mum.  What can I change so that in the mornings specifically, we didn’t have our normal rush and I didn’t let my ‘impatient tone’ come out?
 
How many mornings have you been frustrated with your children for not getting dressed quickly enough, or not getting their shoes on quickly enough, or not eating their breakfast quickly enough….the list could go on…..
 
I don’t want my time with my family to be like this….I don’t want to rush these simple things anymore….I don’t want to only remember my mornings as a time of chaos and panic to get to the bus stop in time, or to get to work before the parents begin arriving.  
 
So, in an effort to keep my sanity and to keep my ‘impatient tone’ hidden away, I am going to focus on total calm in the mornings.  If that means, the children need to wake up a bit earlier, then that is what will happen.  If it means spending just a few more minutes in the evening preparing things for the next morning, then I will, even if I only want to flop into bed! 
 
In the time I spend with my family, I don’t want our time to be tainted with a feeling of anger – especially as I wouldn’t be like that with my colleagues.  Why is it that those closest to us are the ones who always get the good and the ugly – but people we work with usually only get the good?  Our family deserve so much more than this and I intend on making changes so that is what they get. 
 
My change is starting in the mornings………where will yours start?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Morning Rush……

  1. My son, now 37 & a DHT himself told me once when I tried to apologise for all the time he had missed with me, that it was ‘good’ time. It didn’t matter that it wasn’t very much or that I might have been crabby. It was time together. He also told me that I wasn’t to keep worrying about it. He was proud of me & our time together!

    • mrsbartons says:

      That is so good to know! I try really hard to make sure I have quality time with my children. It is no good feeling guilty all the time! It really is other mums who say to me things like, “You are now a headteacher?” Then turning to my children say, “Well you better get used to hardly seeing your mummy anymore!” But, what other profession allows you almost 13 weeks a year off to spend with your family? It is hard work, but so rewarding!

  2. Apologies for the signature on my comment. That should have been Julia Skinner @theheadsoffice

Leave a Reply

