Family Time….

                        “The most important work you and I will ever do will be within the walls of our own homes.”

 ~Harold B Lee~

Well the house is clean and all is well!  Things seems so much better when everything is organised, smelling clean and gleaming!  The children and I decided we should take down all the Christmas decorations today so that we could have a quiet weekend before we head back to school next week.  I have trained them well as they actually enjoy the process of cleaning….my daughter is fantastic and gets everything put away, while my son thinks that dusting is a game!  Let’s hope that attitude continues….

I am a bit obsessive when it comes to cleaning,.  I definitely get that from my dad…..  But, things just seem so much more enjoyable when you see everything shine.

It feels so strange when all the decorations are down and the tree isn’t the centre of attention.  Our living room looks so sparse and empty.  But we have already begun thinking about where our German Easter tree will go when April arrives….How quickly the seasons come and go….

Thinking forward to Monday, I know that I need the same quality time to spend sorting out the paperwork that is hidden behind some large files so that the heap isn’t noticeable when visitors come into my office.  My new folders (all with neatly printed labels) sit in a long row on the top of the cupboards as I still haven’t had the time or got to grips enough with the school to go through all the old head’s files and decide what I need to keep and what can be re-filed or shredded.  It is one of those jobs that just needs to be done and until it is completed, the office still feels ‘rented’ and not really mine.  My last head didn’t complete this job until nearly my third year in…..I definitely cannot wait that long! 

But for now, my mind is on this weekend and spending quality time with my family before we are back into the routine of what the school term brings.  I’ve enjoyed the rain this holiday as it has made us to not feel as though we have to do something away from the house …..in fact, most of these two weeks we have been indoors at home, playing games, colouring, watching too many Christmas movies, drinking too much hot chocolate and eating way too many biscuits that we have been baking in our holiday kitchen!  I would say (perhaps even rounding down!) that 50% of the time we have remained in our pyjamas!  But, tonight we all agreed that this has been one of the best Christmases we have ever had.  Just proves that you don’t have to spend lots of money to have a fantastic time and you can do it all from the comfort of your own home! For the children to agree, something must have been right about this Christmas.  I know when I speak to other parents, there is always that feeling of needing to organise lots of activities, visits or play dates so the children are occupied – I never know if it is for the sake of the children or the parents that we often feel like this…..Well, for these past two weeks we really have had none of these (we have gone to the store a few times, but I don’t know if that can really count as an excursion) and it has been a Christmas we will never forget….

Perhaps tomorrow we will go out and watch the early morning children’s 3-D movie…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

