My Very First Post…….

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
~Mark Twain~


Well, I have seen so many people blogging and I have really enjoyed reading so many posts over this past year especially. It is the first of the year and keeping in tradition felt as though this could be the first change…..blogging….We will see how it goes….I have tried to begin new things before and done well for a while, but then life seems to get in the way and the enthusiasm that I began with soon dwindles and the ‘new thing’ soon disappears and is completely forgotten about. So, I am not making any promises but will do my best to write as often as I can.

My dad told me last year when I was told the news about my first headship, that I needed to write every day…….just a page…….did I? Well, I wrote a few pages, but then it got pushed off to another day…..but what a good idea it is. I don’t know how he does it. He is at his desk at 5:30 every morning without fail. My mum as well. She gets a storyline in her mind and from it can produce a script or a book and it will be completed by the deadline she sets. I wish that I could write like that…..

When I was young, my mum knew I loved to write and tried anything she could to keep up my enthusiasm. When I was about twelve years old she took me with her to an adult’s writing class and began going once a week in the evenings after I had come home from school. The other writers must of thought she was crazy bringing her young pre-teen daughter to these classes, but I absolutely loved that she did. Amongst the adults I felt like a real writer. I don’t know if I am any good at writing….I love to write poetry, but this type of thing, blogging, essays, they do not come as easily, so bear with me as we journey this year together!

So this blog will be honest and I will try to write without editing my work. I want it to be a way to reflect and to evaluate my practice, a chance to improve and really think about where I want things to go. Or on some days it could be a way to centre myself and de-stress from the things of the day…..who knows where I may go!
So, to a new year, a new beginning……the first post in my blog. Thank you 2013 for being fantastic, for Jesus blessing me with all that I have, a wonderful husband, two amazing children and a job that I jump out of bed for. I have more than I could have ever imagined. I look forward to what 2014 has in store…….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment