No longer…..first year of headship…..

I have finally done it…….

I know that I haven’t officially passed the date of becoming a ‘second year headteacher,’ but I thought I had better change the title before I did.  So, the title will no longer be called, ‘First Year of Headship,’ but it is now just the name of my domain – Headsmart.  But still, it will be my reflections, my musings, my commentary about life as a headteacher, life in general…nothing will change.  I hope by continuing this blog, my understanding and aptitude for being a headteacher will continue to grow and develop.  

I have to say, that keeping this blog this year has really helped deepen my understanding of the complexities that headship brings with it.  What could have been very difficult decisions were often made easier by writing and thinking through them.  I have always been under the impression that taking time and thinking through decisions will often ensure the best ‘final’ decisions.  This is exactly what this blog has allowed me to do.  

So, for those who already follow me, I hope that you continue this journey with me.  I have appreciated comments from people in similar situations and the professional dialogues that have stemmed from this have been very useful.  I had no idea the wealth of experience and resources that I would fall into!  So, thank you to everyone who has given me advice, commented on questions that I have posed or just given me words of support – you have all helped me to get through my first year as headteacher.  I really could not have done it without you.

I am looking forward to the incredible journey that my second year will inevitably bring.  I look forward to the ups and downs, the struggles and challenges, the successes and celebrations.  And again, I look forward to continuing to share it with you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to No longer…..first year of headship…..

  1. Well done, Flora! 😉

    Like

Leave a comment