Sunshine makes everything all right…..

What a beautiful day it was today!  It makes such a difference when the sun is shining.  Everyone seems in a better mood and attitudes are instantly lifted.

After church, the children played in the garden for the rest of the afternoon.  They have built themselves a den between the hedgerow and the trees, where they have burrowed out an area for them to lay their blankets and to hide away.  

I remember my childhood playing in the gardens at all our different homes – the secret hideaways, and the stories that I used to create.  A childhood is made so much richer by playing in a garden.  The electronics get put away and imaginations are allowed to take hold.  When the sun is out, the garden is their favourite place to go.  It is like a different world, where they can make a mess, be themselves, and discover nature at its finest.

My husband and I took advantage of the good weather and got to work on the front garden – cutting back the roses and the Jasmine.  I hope we haven’t cut the Jasmine too far – it had been growing wild and had got a bit out of control, so it has been cut right back to the trellis – so time will tell.

Keeping this blog has reminded me of how much I used to enjoy writing.  It becomes a task at work, or when you are having to write for university degrees – but it is a different thing altogether when you are writing for yourself as a tool for reflection.  I used to write poetry –  I could create a poem in minutes, but now it is a more laboured process.  I suppose it is a bit like piano, when you practice it become easier and your fingers are limber, but when you get out of the habit of practice it becomes more difficult.  I would like to begin writing poetry again.  If I do, I will begin to publish some of the completed poems on here.  My mum always seemed to enjoy my poetry at least – even if she does think I am too much of a ‘goody-goody’ on here!  

It is back to work tomorrow and tonight I am going to finish off my SIAMS evaluation so I can send it in the morning.  There seems to be so much to write and get down on paper at the moment.  People always said that there was so much paperwork to complete when you become a head and I am now understanding why.  There is something to fill in for everything!  I’m constantly wondering if there is something I have not written down!

They are just about to announce ‘Best in Show’ at Crufts……

Until tomorrow……..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

